How has photobiomodulation been studied in peripheral neuropathy?
24 papers. Randomized human trials: 6. Human studies without a control group: 2. Reviews and meta analyses: 8. Animal studies: 5. Cell studies: 1. Studies combining animal and cell experiments: 1. Uncontrolled human studies with cell experiments: 1.
Title and abstract search of MED and PMC records in Europe PMC, with first publication dates from 1 January 2025 to 29 October 2026. Every returned record was screened. This is a recent literature window, not an inventory of earlier studies. Includes peripheral nerve research relevant to the limbs; excludes oral, facial and optic nerve studies and studies assessing wounds alone.
Checked 2026-10-29 · 46 records searched
Randomized human trials6
26 participants with diabetic peripheral neuropathy were randomized to local photobiomodulation, local application plus intravascular laser irradiation of blood, or sham. Twelve sessions over 23 days were assessed with pain, neuropathic symptom and sensory measures.
Lasers Med Sci · 2026 · PMID 42430054
40 patients with neuropathic foot ulcers were randomized to hyperbaric oxygen plus polarized light (20) or standard care (20); ulcer volume, transcutaneous oxygen tension and a neuropathy questionnaire were assessed at baseline, two and four weeks.
Am J Phys Med Rehabil · 2026 · PMID 42405939
64 adults with painful diabetic peripheral neuropathy were randomized under double blinding to 640 and 405 nm laser (33) or sham (31); they used the device twice daily for three weeks, five minutes per foot, with pain and sensory symptoms assessed.
Pain Res Manag · 2026 · PMID 42860829
200 participants with type 2 diabetic peripheral neuropathy were randomized to 632.8 nm photobiomodulation or sham, 100 per arm. The foot surfaces were exposed over ten days, with serum neural markers, sensation and pain assessed before and after.
Diabetes Res Clin Pract · 2025 · PMID 40090424
60 patients with chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy were randomized to six photobiomodulation sessions at 6 J/cm² (28) or 8 J/cm² (32); neuropathy scores, six minute walking and questionnaires were compared. Both groups received active light.
Lasers Med Sci · 2026 · PMID 41831101
30 patients with leprosy were randomized in a double blind trial to physiotherapy alone or with photobiomodulation; neurological examinations, pain, activity limitations and quality of life were compared.
Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 40663207
Human studies without a control group2
60 participants with diabetic peripheral neuropathy used a laser shoe exposing the foot; vibration perception threshold, pain, ankle brachial index and plantar pressure were measured. No control group was described in the abstract.
Curr Diabetes Rev · 2025 · PMID 38351691
47 patients with chemotherapy induced lower limb neuropathy received 630 and 850 nm photobiomodulation twice weekly for two weeks; sensory questionnaires, force platform balance and ten meter walking were measured before and after.
Support Care Cancer · 2025 · PMID 40186772
Reviews and meta analyses8
A narrative review examined experimental and clinical literature on photobiomodulation and low level laser in diabetes and its complications, including neuropathy. Study and total participant n were not reported in the abstract.
Int J Mol Sci · 2026 · PMID 41752213
A narrative review searched three databases for literature from 2010 through 2025 on photobiomodulation in diabetic and chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy. Study and total participant n were not reported in the abstract.
Photodiagnosis Photodyn Ther · 2026 · PMID 42373001
A review included 23 clinical and preclinical papers on photobiomodulation in diabetic neuropathy, comparing wavelengths, doses and session schedules in literature from 2015 through 2025. Total participant n was not reported in the abstract.
Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 41091232
A systematic review covered 26 randomized trials of exercise and physiotherapy for chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy, including seven physiotherapy studies across modalities such as photobiomodulation. Total participant n was not reported in the abstract.
Healthcare (Basel) · 2025 · PMID 41302361
A systematic review examined 14 randomized photobiomodulation trials in adults with chronic pain, including peripheral neuropathies, with sham, placebo or conventional care comparisons. Total participant n was not reported in the abstract.
Front Integr Neurosci · 2026 · PMID 41710353
A review of peripheral nerve injury covered structural repair, cell derived materials and physical stimulation including photobiomodulation. It discussed experimental and clinical research; study and participant n were not reported in the abstract.
J Transl Med · 2026 · PMID 41634808
A systematic review and meta analysis included 13 randomized trials of low level laser in carpal tunnel syndrome, comparing pain, grip and hand function. Total participant n was not reported in the abstract.
Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 39776290
A narrative review included eight randomized trials totaling 340 participants across conditions including diabetic neuropathy, examining intravascular or transcutaneous blood irradiation compared with sham, placebo or standard care.
Photodiagnosis Photodyn Ther · 2025 · PMID 40324571
Animal studies5
Male and female rats with chronic sciatic nerve constriction received ten infrared photobiomodulation sessions three times weekly; mechanical and tactile responses were assessed by sex and estrous cycle. Animal n was not reported in the abstract.
Lasers Med Sci · 2026 · PMID 42789121
Male rats with chronic sciatic nerve constriction were studied with 660 and 904 nm photobiomodulation; nociceptive behavior, muscle histology, mitochondrial respiration and proteins were assessed. Animal n was not reported in the abstract.
Lasers Med Sci · 2026 · PMID 42873358
Male rats with chronic sciatic nerve constriction received ten 904 nm photobiomodulation sessions beginning 14 days after injury; nerve structure and proteins were examined with electron microscopy and biochemical assays. Animal n was not reported in the abstract.
Curr Issues Mol Biol · 2026 · PMID 42651804
Mice with streptozotocin induced diabetes were studied with photobiomodulation alone or combined with metformin or insulin; nociception, sensorimotor behavior, memory, sciatic nerve and brain histology and gene expression were assessed. Animal n was not reported in the abstract.
Photochem Photobiol Sci · 2026 · PMID 42704582
Male rats with chronic sciatic nerve constriction were assigned in groups of eight to photobiomodulation, swimming, both or control; 904 nm light and swimming were studied over three weeks using nociception, motor function and calf muscle histology.
Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 41114857
Cell studies1
PC12 neuronal cells received 660 nm light at 5 J/cm² for ten minutes before 24 hours of cisplatin exposure; viability, apoptosis, oxidative stress and AMPK signaling were analyzed. Replicate n was not reported in the abstract.
ACS Omega · 2026 · PMID 42326682
Studies combining animal and cell experiments1
808 nm light was studied in mice with chemotherapy induced neuropathy and paclitaxel exposed neuroblastoma cells and human astrocytes; behavior, nerve fibers, mitochondria and cellular measures were assessed. Animal and cell replicate n were not reported in the abstract.
J Photochem Photobiol B · 2026 · PMID 41807896
Uncontrolled human studies with cell experiments1
20 people with type 2 diabetes received 660 nm photobiomodulation on lower limb wounds twice weekly for seven weeks, with sensation, pain and quality of life assessed. Fibroblasts from skin biopsies were also studied; cell replicate n was not reported in the abstract.
Photochem Photobiol · 2025 · PMID 39829285
Excluded 22 records. Oral, facial or optic nerve topic rather than limb neuropathy: 10. Wound assessment rather than nerve function: 3. Other pain or disease topic rather than peripheral nerve intervention research: 4. Bibliometric analysis rather than an intervention study: 1. Duplicate PMC record for an included paper: 1. General PBM literature classification beyond neuropathy: 1. Expert consensus document rather than a study report: 1. Trial protocol rather than a completed study: 1.
View the search query
(TITLE_ABS:photobiomodulation OR TITLE_ABS:"low level laser" OR TITLE_ABS:"low-level laser") AND (TITLE_ABS:neuropathy OR TITLE_ABS:neuropathic) AND (SRC:MED OR SRC:PMC) AND FIRST_PDATE:[2025-01-01 TO 2026-10-29]
Search Europe PMCFrequently asked questions
Which neuropathies are covered?
The list covers diabetic and chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy, leprosy related nerve symptoms, carpal tunnel syndrome and models of limb nerve injury.
Does every randomized trial use a sham group?
No. The trials include sham comparisons, comparisons with standard care and a comparison between two active light doses.
Are review study counts the same as participant counts?
No. Study counts refer to papers included in a review. Total participant counts are marked as not reported when they are unavailable in the abstract.