Evidence by topic

How has photobiomodulation been studied in skin aging?

10 papers. Human studies without a control group: 1. Reviews and literature analyses: 7. Animal studies: 1. Cell studies: 1.

Publication dates from 1 January 2025 to 29 October 2026. Titles and abstracts were searched for photobiomodulation with skin aging, photoaging or skin rejuvenation.

Checked 2026-10-29 · 13 records searched

Human studies without a control group1

  1. 20 participants aged 45 to 59 used a near infrared LED face mask for 30 minutes five times weekly for 12 weeks; wrinkles, moisture, elasticity and skin density were measured without a control group. A separate hair study of 25 participants is not counted in the skin sample.

    Aesthetic Plast Surg · 2026 · PMID 41366107

Reviews and literature analyses7

  1. A review of mitochondrial literature on autologous biologics for skin aging and wounds, discussing ex vivo preparation using photobiomodulation, ultrasound and mechanical stimulation. The abstract does not report the number of included papers or total participants.

    Int J Mol Sci · 2026 · PMID 41828428

  2. A review of mechanistic literature and product related scientific papers for red and near infrared photobiomodulation masks used in skin rejuvenation. The abstract does not report the number of included papers or total participants.

    Cureus · 2026 · PMID 42005232

  3. A literature review of blue, yellow, red and near infrared LED use in cosmetic dermatology, organizing cellular mechanisms and clinical applications in skin aging and other skin conditions. The abstract does not report the number of included papers or total participants.

    Photodermatol Photoimmunol Photomed · 2025 · PMID 40751922

  4. A PubMed literature review comparing evidence with commercial product claims across 6 cosmetic dermatology indications for red light. Six refers to indications; paper and participant totals are not reported in the abstract.

    J Drugs Dermatol · 2026 · PMID 42696344

  5. A review of mitochondrial literature on skin aging, examining red and near infrared photobiomodulation alongside other approaches directed at mitochondria. The abstract does not report the number of included papers or total participants.

    Aging Dis · 2026 · PMID 41824483

  6. A review of cell, animal and clinical literature on visible and near infrared wavelengths in skin aging and other skin conditions, organizing cellular responses, exposure parameters and safety data. The abstract does not report the number of included papers or total participants.

    J Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 41789284

  7. A systematic review of 23 original studies on cellular senescence in skin: 6 laser studies, 11 light based studies and 6 other energy device studies, with photobiomodulation among the modalities searched. Total participant count is not reported in the abstract.

    Lasers Surg Med · 2026 · PMID 41340019

Animal studies1

  1. 30 Wistar rats were allocated to 5 groups comparing fractional CO₂ laser alone, laser plus photobiomodulation and untreated conditions; collagen, elastic fibers and extracellular matrix thickness were measured at 7 and 28 days.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 40789786

Cell studies1

  1. Human dermal fibroblasts received 365 nm UVA and 650 nm red light separately or sequentially; viability, proliferation and collagen and apoptosis related gene expression were assessed. Independent replicate count is not reported in the abstract.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2026 · PMID 42390659

3 of 13 records excluded: a review focused on melasma rather than skin aging (1), a review focused on thermal damage rather than photobiomodulation (1), a mastopexy dataset distinct from skin photobiomodulation (1).

View the search query

(TITLE_ABS:photobiomodulation OR TITLE_ABS:"low level laser" OR TITLE_ABS:"red light therapy") AND (TITLE_ABS:"skin aging" OR TITLE_ABS:"skin ageing" OR TITLE_ABS:photoaging OR TITLE_ABS:photoageing OR TITLE_ABS:"skin rejuvenation") AND FIRST_PDATE:[2025-01-01 TO 2026-10-29] AND (SRC:MED OR SRC:PMC)

Search Europe PMC

Frequently asked questions

How many people were in the face mask study?

The skin segment of the included near infrared mask study enrolled 20 people. Its separate hair segment enrolled 25, who are not added to the skin sample.

Are human skin studies and cell studies the same?

No. Studies applying a mask to people and studies irradiating cultured dermal fibroblasts are listed in separate groups.

Do all reviews cover only photobiomodulation?

No. Some include other wavelengths or energy devices. The cellular senescence review with 23 papers does not consist of 23 photobiomodulation studies.