Evidence by topic

How has photobiomodulation been studied in the heart and blood vessels?

46 papers. Randomized human trials: 16. Controlled human studies, including unspecified allocation: 6. Human studies without a control group: 7. Systematic search reviews, meta analyses and review overviews: 3. Animal studies, including accompanying cell experiments: 8. Cell and ex vivo studies: 6.

All records from the Europe PMC MED and PMC title and abstract query were screened. Human studies have no lower year limit through the checked date; animal, cell and ex vivo studies are included from 2024 onward. DOI and PMID duplicates were removed and each group is sorted by first publication date, newest first. This is an abstract screened inventory of this query, not a systematic review guaranteeing all relevant literature. Cardiac, peripheral vascular and skin circulation studies are covered. Studies confined to brain, retina or dentistry and wound studies without circulation measures are excluded. Temperature proxies, intravascular exposure, cell preconditioning with transplantation and combined methods are distinguished.

Checked 2026-10-29 · 183 records searched

Randomized human trials16

  1. 18 trained cyclists completed transcranial PBM and sham in randomized crossover order; heart rate, lactate, perceived exertion and power were measured during constant load and 25 minute cycling tests.

    Front Physiol · 2026 · PMID 41913811

  2. In a randomized study of 34 active adults, 17 crossed over between active and sham PBM with resistance exercise and 17 received PBM without exercise; heart rate variability was assessed after 12 J infra auricular exposure.

    J Biophotonics · 2026 · PMID 41810483

  3. 21 mastectomized women using hormone blockers were randomized to 660 nm exposure over the carotid artery (12) or placebo (9); CRP, homocysteine and hemodynamic measures were examined over 4 months.

    Photobiomodul Photomed Laser Surg · 2024 · PMID 39422591

  4. 10 patients with type 2 diabetes completed randomized crossover conditions with or without oral medication and 0, 100 or 240 J of 830 nm PBM; glycemia and cardiac autonomic control by heart rate variability were measured.

    J Biophotonics · 2023 · PMID 37171054

  5. 31 patients with knee osteoarthritis were randomized to individualized 850 nm PBM or sham for 5 weeks; pain, quality of life, blood and urine measures and microcirculation related thermography were examined.

    Photobiomodul Photomed Laser Surg · 2022 · PMID 36286574

  6. Participants with Alzheimer disease, mild cognitive impairment or chronic insomnia received red and green light through the eyes in a 12 week randomized crossover study; finger skin perfusion was measured by Doppler. Sample size is not stated in the abstract.

    J Clin Med · 2021 · PMID 34945014

  7. 192 coronary bypass participants were randomized to added intravenous and transdermal PBM or standard care, with 170 completing the study; cardiac enzymes, ECG, ejection fraction and postoperative events were examined.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2021 · PMID 33398614

  8. 11 men with type 2 diabetes performed constant load exercise after leg LED exposure at 150 J, 300 J or placebo; ECG, pulse pressure and baroreflex sensitivity were compared at rest, during exercise and in recovery. The record is indexed as a randomized trial.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2020 · PMID 31203569

  9. 24 acute myocardial infarction patients were randomized equally to tibial laser or sham before coronary intervention and at 24 and 72 hours; procedural timing, blood cells, cardiac enzymes and ejection fraction were assessed.

    J Interv Cardiol · 2018 · PMID 29999208

  10. 8 healthy adults completed LED and placebo in randomized crossover order, with muscle exposure 30 minutes and 6 hours before exercise; oxygen uptake, cardiac output, heart rate and stroke volume were measured.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2018 · PMID 29516305

  11. 79 patients with chronic leg wounds, 39 with diabetes and 40 without, were randomized to LED or comparison light; 625, 660 and 850 nm exposure and Doppler skin blood flow at the wound edge were examined over 8 weeks.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2017 · PMID 28342007

  12. 40 periodontal patients were randomized equally to scaling and root planing alone or with low level laser; carotid wall shear stress, blood viscosity and vascular elasticity were measured before, after and at 5 months.

    Medicine (Baltimore) · 2015 · PMID 26496285

  13. 51 healthy adults were randomized to ultrasound, electrical current, low level laser or vibration massage; the 11 laser participants received 5.4 and 18 J on separate legs, with Achilles tendon hemoglobin and oxygen saturation measured.

    J Orthop Sports Phys Ther · 2015 · PMID 26039223

  14. 18 untrained adults completed 850 nm leg muscle laser and placebo in randomized crossover order; oxygen uptake, heart rate and EMG were measured during cardiopulmonary testing 10 minutes later.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2014 · PMID 24925070

  15. In a record indexed as a randomized trial, 102 of 132 rheumatoid arthritis patients received alternating red and ultraviolet intravenous light and 30 served as controls; endothelial function and microcirculation were measured around 10 days. This is not red light alone.

    Vopr Kurortol Fizioter Lech Fiz Kult · 2014 · PMID 25087414

  16. Patients with knee osteoarthritis were randomized to 830 nm laser or placebo for 4 weeks; thermography, joint range and pain were followed. Sample size is not stated in the abstract; skin temperature was measured as a circulation proxy.

    Photomed Laser Surg · 2009 · PMID 19530911

Controlled human studies, including unspecified allocation6

  1. An observational study of 268 patients with musculoskeletal disorders measured blood pressure before and after radiofrequency energy transfer and low level laser sessions on days 1, 5 and 10, comparing hypertensive and normotensive groups.

    Cureus · 2025 · PMID 41492603

  2. 49 heart failure patients were allocated nonrandomly to moderate or high intensity exercise with or without PBM, or control; oxygen consumption, ventilatory efficiency and exercise tolerance were measured over 10 weeks.

    Arq Bras Cardiol · 2025 · PMID 41538589

  3. 30 normotensive and 34 hypertensive patients with hyperuricemia received 635 nm low level laser; reactive hyperemia, uric acid and blood pressure were compared.

    Wiad Lek · 2018 · PMID 30448802

  4. 30 of 40 healthy adults received 808 nm light over the radial artery at 20 J daily for 3 days, with 10 controls; blood markers of angiogenesis, antioxidant status and nitric oxide pathways were measured.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2016 · PMID 27299570

  5. 32 coronary bypass patients receiving 810 nm laser for 3 days were compared with 28 without laser; blood counts, CPK, CPKMB and LDH were repeatedly measured around surgery.

    J Lasers Med Sci · 2014 · PMID 25653805

  6. A comparative study allocated 106 patients with venous leg ulcers across five physical methods, including 21 receiving low level laser; wound temperature was measured by thermography before and for 30 minutes after a session.

    Wounds · 2012 · PMID 25874356

Human studies without a control group7

  1. 20 hemodialysis patients received 830 nm light at a total dose of 126 J to the palm; arteriovenous fistula microcirculatory velocity and flux were measured and examined by age and dialysis duration.

    Asian Biomed (Res Rev News) · 2025 · PMID 40231166

  2. 60 participants with diabetic peripheral neuropathy received shoe delivered PBM across the foot; ankle brachial index, pain, sensation and plantar pressure were measured before and afterward.

    Curr Diabetes Rev · 2025 · PMID 38351691

  3. 10 patients with advanced ischemic heart failure received 15 transcutaneous and intravenous PBM sessions at 658 and 810 nm; 6 minute walking, dyspnea class and echocardiography were assessed before and at 3 months.

    Photodiagnosis Photodyn Ther · 2024 · PMID 38685548

  4. A retrospective study followed 25 healthy adults receiving PBM, whole body cryotherapy, infrared sauna and lifestyle guidance for 6 months; blood markers were measured, with heart rate variability assessed in 7 participants.

    Healthcare (Basel) · 2024 · PMID 38540640

  5. Finger photoplethysmography from 20 participants in an earlier PBM study was reanalyzed for waveform amplitude, entropy, smoothness and bilateral responses by baseline palm temperature.

    Front Physiol · 2023 · PMID 37817983

  6. A case series compared 27 patients with chronic systolic heart failure before and after low level laser exposure; clinical status, 6 minute walking, echocardiography and serum nitric oxide were measured.

    Egypt Heart J · 2023 · PMID 36780088

  7. 12 adults received 10,600 nm, 70 mW low level carbon dioxide laser exposure to the forearm, with skin perfusion and temperature measured; thermal responses were also examined.

    Photobiomodul Photomed Laser Surg · 2019 · PMID 31050951

Systematic search reviews, meta analyses and review overviews3

  1. A systematic review searched intravascular low level laser studies across conditions including cardiovascular disease, examining blood rheology, inflammatory and oxidative measures and study designs. The number of included papers is not stated in the abstract.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 41065846

  2. A review selected 8 randomized trials with 340 participants from five databases and grey literature on intravascular or transcutaneous light exposure; outcomes and risk of bias were examined across conditions including cardiovascular disease. Counts cover all conditions.

    Photodiagnosis Photodyn Ther · 2025 · PMID 40324571

  3. An integrative review using database searches and eligibility criteria selected 37 papers on intravascular and transcutaneous PBM, distinguishing 28 clinical papers including cardiovascular conditions and 9 preclinical papers. Counts cover all fields.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 39847118

Animal studies, including accompanying cell experiments8

  1. Extracellular vesicles from green light exposed human embryonic stem cells were delivered to infarcted mouse hearts by microneedle patches; cardiomyocytes, angiogenesis and metabolism were examined. Sample sizes are not stated in the abstract.

    Acta Pharm Sin B · 2026 · PMID 42453405

  2. 30 of 50 enrolled rats with diabetes and heart failure entered analysis after surgical survival and eligibility checks; cardiac function, glycemia and oxidative markers were measured after 8 weeks of exercise with or without 850 nm PBM.

    J Diabetes Metab Disord · 2026 · PMID 41988509

  3. 48 male mice were allocated to control, isoproterenol, PBM or combined groups for 4 weeks; cardiac ultrasound and tissue staining assessed function, fibrosis and cellular markers.

    Photodiagnosis Photodyn Ther · 2026 · PMID 41687759

  4. Human adipose stromal cells were preconditioned with red OLED light, cultured as 3D spheroids and transplanted in an infarction model; cardiac function, vessels and tissue remodeling were examined. Sample sizes are not stated in the abstract.

    Adv Sci (Weinh) · 2025 · PMID 40278796

  5. 26 female rats were allocated to ovariectomy, sham surgery or ovariectomy with PBM; abdominal 660 nm exposure was applied for 2 weeks and blood pressure, aortic reactivity and serum nitric oxide were measured.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2025 · PMID 40100331

  6. Rats with femoral artery ligation received 660 and 808 nm PBM; vessel diameter, muscle area, collagen, serum IL17A and limb movement were examined. Animal count is not stated in the abstract.

    J Biophotonics · 2024 · PMID 39401766

  7. Rats with myocardial infarction received transthoracic 830 nm light at 10, 20 or 40 J three times weekly for 4 weeks; echocardiography, hemodynamics, myocardial inflammation and oxidative markers were measured. Animal count is not stated in the abstract.

    Photochem Photobiol · 2025 · PMID 39126163

  8. Groups of 8 rats in a high fat diet model were compared with 660 nm PBM three times weekly; blood pressure, nitric oxide, lipid oxidation and vascular reactivity were measured.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2024 · PMID 38165554

Cell and ex vivo studies6

  1. Human induced pluripotent stem cells received 810 nm LED exposure for 15 minutes daily at three intensities; cell viability, mitochondria and cardiac differentiation were assessed. Replicate counts are not stated in the abstract.

    Lasers Med Sci · 2026 · PMID 41665688

  2. Rat cardiomyoblasts and cardiac microvascular endothelial cells were cocultured with aloe vera and 600 to 1200 nm PBM; differentiation, vascular structures and gene expression were examined. Replicate counts are not stated in the abstract.

    J Photochem Photobiol B · 2026 · PMID 41385894

  3. Human induced pluripotent stem cell derived ventricular cardiomyocytes received 660 nm preconditioning followed by 24 hours of doxorubicin exposure; viability, oxidative markers, 40 genes and proteins were analyzed. Replicate counts are not stated in the abstract.

    Biomedicines · 2025 · PMID 40722850

  4. PBM conditions were compared in human umbilical vein endothelial and vascular smooth muscle cells; migration, proliferation, mitochondrial membrane potential and oxygen consumption were assessed. Replicate counts are not stated in the abstract.

    Int J Mol Sci · 2024 · PMID 39795951

  5. H9C2 cardiomyocytes underwent 24 hours of cobalt chloride exposure and 16 hours of reoxygenation with or without 850 nm PBM; viability and proteins were measured. Replicate counts are not stated in the abstract.

    J Photochem Photobiol B · 2024 · PMID 39033547

  6. PBM wavelength, irradiance, duration and geometry were compared in human cardiac myocytes; protoporphyrin, mitochondrial potential, oxygen consumption and morphology were measured. Replicate counts are not stated in the abstract.

    Life Sci · 2024 · PMID 38823506

137 of 183 records excluded: outcomes outside cardiac, peripheral vascular or skin circulation scope (15), cerebral rather than cardiac or peripheral vascular scope (4), preclinical review without human evidence (5), narrative review, commentary or hypothesis (34), dental research without a direct cardiovascular question (7), wound study without a direct circulation question (8), no direct study of the specified intervention (1), no abstract (2), animal, cell or ex vivo study before 2024 (56), retinal or ocular scope (3), protocol without completed data (2).

View the search query

TITLE_ABS:(photobiomodulation OR PBMT OR "low level laser" OR "low level light" OR "red light therapy") AND TITLE_ABS:(cardiac OR myocardial OR cardiovascular OR "limb ischemia" OR "limb ischaemia" OR microcirculation) AND (SRC:MED OR SRC:PMC) AND FIRST_PDATE:[* TO 2026-10-29]

Search Europe PMC

Frequently asked questions

How many primary human study papers are included?

There are 29 primary human papers: 16 randomized trials, 6 other comparative studies and 7 studies without a control group.

Which publication years were checked?

The query covers publications through 29 October 2026. Human studies have no lower publication year limit; animal, cell and ex vivo studies are limited to 2024 onward.

Does the paper count represent distinct clinical trials?

No. Different outcome or follow up reports from one trial may be separate papers. DOI and PMID duplicates were removed, but participants across reports are not added together. Reviews may include the same participants as primary papers.