Evidence by topic

How has molecular hydrogen been studied in the heart?

19 papers. Randomized human trials: 1. Controlled human studies, including unspecified allocation: 1. Human studies without a control group: 7. Animal studies, including accompanying cell experiments: 9. Cell and ex vivo studies: 1.

All records from the Europe PMC MED and PMC title and abstract query were screened. Human studies have no lower year limit through the checked date; animal, cell and ex vivo studies are included from 2024 onward. DOI and PMID duplicates were removed and each group is sorted by first publication date, newest first. This is an abstract screened inventory of this query, not a systematic review guaranteeing all relevant literature. Studies of the heart and pulmonary arterial hypertension are covered. Hydrogen inhalation, solutions, capsules and hydrogen generating materials are distinguished. Ischemia studies confined to noncardiac organs and studies using hydrogen only as a blood flow tracer are excluded. Cardiac arrest papers focused on brain assessment are assigned to the brain injury topic.

Checked 2026-10-29 · 247 records searched

Randomized human trials1

  1. A randomized valve surgery study examined 1.5 to 2.0 percent hydrogen during anesthesia, measuring red cell and cardiac function. The abstract inconsistently states 20 participants and two groups of 12, totaling 24.

    Med Gas Res · 2023 · PMID 36204784

Controlled human studies, including unspecified allocation1

  1. An open pilot study assigned 20 patients diagnosed with ST elevation myocardial infarction to 1.3 percent hydrogen with 26 percent oxygen or 26 percent oxygen alone. Cardiac MRI at seven days and six months after coronary intervention and adverse events were examined; randomization was not stated.

    Circ J · 2017 · PMID 28321000

Human studies without a control group7

  1. A case report followed NT proBNP and immune cells during hydrogen inhalation in one man aged 49 with tricuspid regurgitation and cirrhosis after trauma, sepsis and cardiac arrest.

    In Vivo · 2026 · PMID 42379742

  2. T and B cell immunophenotypes were followed during hydrogen capsule use in one woman aged 42 with lupus and pulmonary arterial hypertension.

    In Vivo · 2026 · PMID 41482388

  3. Immune phenotypes were followed during and after hydrogen capsule use in one woman aged 45 with lupus and pulmonary arterial hypertension.

    In Vivo · 2025 · PMID 41167678

  4. A case report examined regulatory T cells, Tr1 cells and B cells during hydrogen capsule use in one woman aged 51 with lupus, pulmonary arterial hypertension and right heart failure.

    In Vivo · 2025 · PMID 40010970

  5. proBNP, immune cells, antibodies and fatigue were followed during adjunct hydrogen use in one woman aged 51 with lupus and acute heart failure. The delivery route was not stated in the abstract.

    In Vivo · 2025 · PMID 40010949

  6. Regulatory T cells, B cells, anti Ro antibodies and symptoms were followed during hydrogen capsule use in one woman aged 56 with Sjogren syndrome, pulmonary arterial hypertension and right heart failure.

    In Vivo · 2024 · PMID 39477378

  7. A human chronic heart failure study examined two percent hydrogen for 40 minutes once or repeatedly for five days, measuring erythrocyte ATP, 2,3 DPG, malondialdehyde and catalase. Human indexing confirms the population; n and randomization were not stated in the abstract.

    Bull Exp Biol Med · 2022 · PMID 36210415

Animal studies, including accompanying cell experiments9

  1. Rats with myocardial ischemia and reperfusion received hydrogen loaded lipid microbubbles with ultrasound. Echocardiography, infarct size and cell death markers were measured; n was not stated.

    Biomater Adv · 2026 · PMID 41671925

  2. Rats with catecholamine induced heart failure received hydrogen for 40 minutes once or over five days. Microcirculation, lipid oxidation and myocardial tissue were examined; n was not stated.

    Antioxidants (Basel) · 2025 · PMID 41462618

  3. Hydrogen releasing magnesium diboride nanosheets were investigated using transcriptomics and proteomics in pulmonary arterial hypertension associated right heart failure. Indexing identifies mice; n and detailed dosing were not stated in the abstract.

    Free Radic Biol Med · 2026 · PMID 41308938

  4. BALB/c mice with autoimmune myocarditis received two percent hydrogen for three hours twice daily for 21 days. Echocardiography, tissue, CD4 cells, TNF and necroptosis markers were examined; n was not stated.

    Clin Immunol · 2025 · PMID 40812663

  5. Male mice with septic cardiomyopathy received two percent hydrogen inhalation with or without brefeldin A. Seven day survival, echocardiography, cardiac enzymes, Golgi, autophagy and inflammatory markers were measured; n was not stated.

    Br J Pharmacol · 2025 · PMID 40717465

  6. Oral magnesium generating hydrogen in rats with isoproterenol induced heart failure and hydrogen rich medium in H9C2 cells were examined for cardiac function, fibrosis and endoplasmic reticulum stress markers. n was not stated.

    Med Gas Res · 2025 · PMID 40300881

  7. Thirty rats with myocardial infarction were assigned in groups of ten. Two percent hydrogen was given for three hours twice daily, with infarct size, mitochondria and apoptosis markers measured.

    Free Radic Res · 2025 · PMID 40040521

  8. Subcutaneous magnesium slices on the back and hydrogen inhalation were compared in rats with myocardial infarction, measuring hydrogen levels and cardiac function. Animal n was not stated.

    Sci Rep · 2024 · PMID 38745034

  9. Two percent hydrogen with or without bafilomycin A1 was examined in mice with septic cardiomyopathy, measuring seven day survival, myocardial tissue, troponin and autophagy markers. n was not stated.

    BMC Anesthesiol · 2024 · PMID 38395800

Cell and ex vivo studies1

  1. An electrochemical hydrogen generating hydrogel was investigated in cardiomyocytes and ex vivo hearts with ischemia and reperfusion. The paper also contains skin experiments; cardiac sample sizes were not stated.

    Nat Chem Eng · 2025 · PMID 42375831

228 of 247 records excluded: protocol without completed data (2), outside direct cardiac or pulmonary arterial hypertension scope (17), retracted publication or retraction notice (2), narrative review, commentary or hypothesis (31), no abstract (5), animal, cell or ex vivo study before 2024 (154), no direct study of the specified intervention (5), measurement validation rather than an intervention study (12).

View the search query

TITLE_ABS:("molecular hydrogen" OR "hydrogen gas" OR "hydrogen inhalation" OR "inhaled hydrogen" OR "hydrogen oxygen" OR oxyhydrogen OR "hydrogen rich") AND TITLE_ABS:(myocardial OR "cardiac dysfunction" OR "heart failure" OR "ischemia reperfusion" OR "ischaemia reperfusion") AND (SRC:MED OR SRC:PMC) AND FIRST_PDATE:[* TO 2026-10-29]

Search Europe PMC

Frequently asked questions

How many primary human study papers are included?

There are 9 primary human papers: 1 randomized trials, 1 other comparative studies and 7 studies without a control group.

Which publication years were checked?

The query covers publications through 29 October 2026. Human studies have no lower publication year limit; animal, cell and ex vivo studies are limited to 2024 onward.

Does the paper count represent distinct clinical trials?

No. Different outcome or follow up reports from one trial may be separate papers. DOI and PMID duplicates were removed, but participants across reports are not added together. Reviews may include the same participants as primary papers.